Eligibility Requirements

All applicants must meet the following five (5) eligibility requirements for all KS College Scholarships. Click on the requirements below for more information.

1. Hawaiʻi resident

Applicants are required to be a Hawaiʻi resident at the time of application submission. A Hawaiʻi resident is defined as living continuously in the State of Hawaiʻi for at least twelve (12) consecutive months prior to the date of application.

For returning scholarship recipients who:

  1. Received an award disbursement in the 2019-2020 school year and
  2. Will pursue the same degree program in the 2020-2021 school year and
  3. Are living outside of the State of Hawaiʻi,

You are considered a Hawaiʻi resident and eligible for the 2020-2021 application period.

2. Full-time student

Enrollment in a full-time undergraduate or graduate program is required, however, non-traditional students enrolled half-time at a Hawaiʻi institution may be considered.

Non-Traditional Guidelines
A non-traditional student is defined as one of the following:

  • Single Parent
  • Sole Income Provider
  • Disabled (Meets ADA Definition)
  • Homeless
  • Ward of the Court

Supporting documentation must be provided to KS during application processing to be given this special consideration. Click here to view Non-Traditional student guidelines and required documents.

3. Classified, degree-seeking student

Enrollment in a classified, degree-seeking program or a post-baccalaureate Teaching Certificate program is required.  All other Certificate programs are not eligible for funding. Applicants must also be attending an accredited educational institution in the U.S. that is recognized by KS.

Qualified Schools
KS College Scholarships are available to students enrolled at educational institutions accredited by the following regional accrediting organizations:

  • Middle States Association of Colleges & Schools – Commission on Higher Education
  • Northwest Commission on Colleges & Universities
  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC)
  • New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher Education
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
  • Western Association of Schools and Colleges – Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
  • Western Association of Schools and Colleges – Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities

Qualified Hawaiʻi institutions include:

  • Argosy University
  • Brigham Young University, Hawaiʻi campus
  • Chaminade University of Honolulu
  • Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, Hawaiʻi campus
  • Hawaiʻi Pacific University
  • Hawaiʻi Tokai International College
  • New Hope Christian College (Eugene, OR)
  • University of Hawaiʻi campuses and affiliated community colleges
  • University of Phoenix
  • Wayland Baptist University, Hawaiʻi campus
  • Pacific Rim Christian University, Hawaiʻi campus

4. Have financial need

Financial need is determined by Cost of Attendance less Estimated Family Contribution.

5. Meet Maximum Funding guidelines

The number of years a student is eligible for an award is limited and is based upon the degree the student is pursuing. When determining the number of years a student has received funding from KS, both College Scholarships and ʻImi Naʻauao scholarships are included in the calculation.  The following table provides the number of years a student may receive KS funding by degree.

Maximum Funding Table

DegreeMax Funding Eligibility
Associate (AA or AS)3 years
Bachelors (BA or BS)5 years
Total Undergraduate Eligibility5 years (Associate + Bachelor years combined)
Teaching Certificate (TC)2 years
Masters (MA, MS, MBA)3 years
Doctoral2 years
Total Graduate EligibilityNHAP + Imi
Professional Degrees*
including, but not limited to:
•Chiropractic (D.C., D.C.M.)
•Dentistry (D.D.S., D.M.D.)
•Law (LL.B., J.D.)
•Medicine (M.B., M.D.)
•Optometry (O.D.)
•Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.)
•Pharmacy (Pharm.D.)
•Podiatry (D.P.M., D.P., Pod.D.)
•Theology (M.Div, M.H.L., B.D., Ordination)
•Veterinary Medicine (D.V.M., V.M.D.)
As specified by the university


Application Closed on January 31, 2020.



Go to KS Net Partner!

This year, we have a simplified application process for eligible 2019-2020 award recipients.

Learn More