‘Imi Na‘auao

ʻImi Naʻauao (search for knowledge) is a merit-based scholarship program available to post-baccalaureate students. The amount of the scholarship award varies each year depending on the availability of Kamehameha Schools (KS) funds. Awarding is limited to two academic years. Students must re-apply for the scholarship for the second year and meet all of the program eligibility requirements. Timely completion of the application process does not guarantee eligibility or a scholarship award.

Applications are no longer being accepted for the 2014-2015 academic year!  The application deadline was Monday, March 10, 2014


2014-2015 Program Changes

Curriculum Vitae

The Resume requirement has been eliminated and replaced with a Curriculum Vitae (CV). Both Renewal and New applicants are required to submit a CV by the deadline date highlighting academic achievements, leadership experiences, community service/civic involvement, and honors & awards.  Submission must be a maximum of 3 pages; typewritten preferred. (Any submission beyond 3 pages will not be forwarded for evaluation.)


Eligibility Requirements

Applicants for this scholarship must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Be a Hawaiʻi resident at the time of application submission.
  • Have a minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0.
  • Have a conferred/anticipated bachelor’s degree by spring 2014.
  • Be a full-time student (Non-traditional students enrolled half-time at a Hawaiʻi institution may be considered for funding).
  • Have received the ʻImi Naʻauao scholarship for less than two scholarship years.
  • Be a classified, degree-seeking student at an accredited educational institution in the U.S. as recognized by KS.
  • Meet maximum funding eligibility guidelines.  See below: 

Maximum Funding 

Maximum Funding is defined as the total number of years a student can receive a scholarship disbursement from KS while pursuing their post-baccalaureate degree. The calculation of the total number of years includes any year for which any disbursement from a KS scholarship program has occured.

Degree Maximum Funding
3 Years
2 Years
As specified by the university

If you are a Renewal applicant, one who received disbursement from the ʻImi Naʻauao scholarship in the 2013-2014 Academic Year, make sure that you have complied with all of the requirements listed in the 2013-2014 ʻImi Naʻauao Terms and Conditions.


Eligible Degrees

KS provides scholarships to students pursuing a wide range of graduate degrees:

  • Masters
  • Doctorate
    • Thesis and Dissertation writings are not covered by KS scholarship programs but may be evaluated on an individual case basis.
  • Law
  • Medical


Qualified Schools

ʻImi Naʻauao scholarships are available for students attending educational institutions accredited by the following regional accrediting organizations:

  • Middle States Association of Colleges & Schools – Commission on Higher Education
  • Northwest Commission on Colleges & Universities
  • North Central Association of Colleges and Schools – The Higher Learning Commission
  • New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher Education
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
  • Western Association of Schools and Colleges – Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
  • Western Association of Schools and Colleges – Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities

Qualified Hawaiʻi institutions include:

  • Argosy University
  • Brigham Young University, Hawaiʻi campus
  • Chaminade University of Honolulu
  • Hawaiʻi Pacific University
  • Heald College
  • University of Hawaiʻi campuses and affiliated community colleges
  • University of Phoenix, Hawaiʻi campus only


Special Consideration

Merit is the primary consideration in awarding this scholarship; however, KS also gives special consideration to certain applicants.

  • Designated Areas of Study  

All majors are considered in our awarding process; however, special consideration is given to applicants pursuing majors as identified by KS. These majors are reviewed annually and may change from year to year.


 Hawaiian Studies
  • Non-Traditional Students  

Students who are deemed non-traditional are allowed half-time enrollment. If awarded and a change in enrollment status occurs, the original award amount may decrease, but will not increase. Refer to the Non-Traditional Table for a definition and instructions for submitting documentation confirming your non-traditional status.


Click Continue for further information

Kamehameha Schools © All rights reserved. Statements of Privacy, Copyright, & Disclaimer.
2014 Education Technology Services of Kamehameha